But This Time There Were Robots – A Potential Anthology

An idea has insinuated itself into my mind. I can do nothing but post about it and see if anyone else is as excited about it as I am.

I was posting on social media about how last night I had written 2000 words and killed off Gaius Julius Caesar in my novel about an ironpunk Roman republic. In doing so one of my followers responded by congratulating me, but asked if Caesar hadn’t been killed a long time ago.

I allowed that he had been and then uttered the phrase that has grasped my mind in two metallic pincer-like hands for the last 6 hours.

Caesar had been killed before, I said. But this time there were robots!

 

A scene from Karel Čapek's 1920 play R.U.R. (Rossum's Universal Robots), the first usage of the word 'robot'

A scene from Karel Čapek’s 1920 play R.U.R. (Rossum’s Universal Robots), the first usage of the word ‘robot’

 

Now, let me be clear. I know next to nothing about putting together a short story anthology. I know next to nothing about self-publishing. Will I let that stop me? Certainly not. I can learn.

I envision an anthology of stories by multiple authors, set in different historical time periods, featuring robots big and small. Some will be friendly robots and some will be mean. Some will be very smart and others will be glorified wind-up toys. Some will have scientific reasons for their existence, and some will exist just because it’s fun.

All will be robots, and all will be anachronistic.

When I figure out how I’m going to proceed I will post again. There could be a call for submissions or a Kickstarter campaign, I’m honestly not sure. But this is going to happen.

If you’re interested in participating in what is now just an idea, let me know.

Stay tuned.

One thought on “But This Time There Were Robots – A Potential Anthology

  1. If this ever gets off the ground, I am in like gangbusters.

Leave a Reply

